You Are Here: Home » Detroit » Council chooses new leadership

Council chooses new leadership

By Donald Barnes
Special to the Michigan Citizen

Brenda Jones

Brenda Jones

DETROIT –  Brenda Jones will serve as president of the Detroit City Council. In a 5-4 vote, Jan. 6, Jones beat out Saunteel Jenkins who briefly served as president during the previous session.

George Cushingberry

George Cushingberry

The three-time council member cast a vote for herself, along with newcomers George Cushingberry, who will serve as pro tem, Mary Sheffield, Scott Benson and Gabe Leland.

The new council, which includes former members Andre Spivey, James Tate, and first time elected official Racquel Castaneda-Lopez, is the first to represent districts in nearly a century.

Council by district was mandated by the city’s new charter, as was the selection of council leadership. In recent years, council president and pro tem was awarded to the highest two vote getters in the general election.

Council took the oath of office Dec. 11 on the final installment of a three-day council commencement and orientation at Wayne State.

Council will be officially sworn in Jan. 7 during the Investiture Ceremony at 10 a.m.

Formal session will follow at 1 p.m. Council President Jones will assign members to committees during formal session.

Clip to Evernote

About The Author

Number of Entries : 3288

© 2012 The Michigan Citizen All Rights Reserved | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy

Scroll to top