You Are Here: Home » Detroit » Detroiters honored with peacemaker awards

Detroiters honored with peacemaker awards

DETROIT — On Nov. 17, the Center for Peace and Conflict Studies Program at Wayne State University will host the 2013 Max Mark-Cranbrook Peace Lecture and Peacemaker Awards ceremony on WSU’s campus in Spencer Partrich Auditorium and McGregor Memorial Conference Center. According to their Web site, the Center was founded in 1965 “to provide interdisciplinary, university-wide, academic programs in the field of domestic and international conflict and peace issues.”

NPR’s International Correspondent Deborah Amos will deliver the lecture, “Latest Developments in Middle East,” and will also receive a Global Peacemaker Award.

Community Peacemaker Awards for 2013 will go to Peace Zones for Life founder Ron Scott, and philosopher and lifelong social activist, Grace Lee Boggs. Professor and physicist Dr. Alvin Saperstein and legendary Detroit musician Rodriguez, star of the recent documentary, “Searching for Sugarman,” will receive International Peace Collaboration Awards as well.

WDET Detroit Public Radio 101.9 FM News Director, Jerome Vaughn will be the event’s master of ceremonies.

— Staff report

Attending the lecture and awards ceremony costs $5 and is free for students with WSU ID. The lecture and award ceremony is from 3-5 p.m. and the VIP reception ($60 tickets) is from 5-6 p.m. For more event information, call 313.577.3453.

Clip to Evernote

About The Author

Number of Entries : 3301

© 2012 The Michigan Citizen All Rights Reserved | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy

Scroll to top