You Are Here: Home » Sports » PSL re-aligns football divisions

PSL re-aligns football divisions

Pershing (dark jerseys) versus Douglass (white jerseys) last season. CHUCK JOHNSON, DPS PHOTO

By Harry M. Anderson, Jr.
Special to the Michigan Citizen

DETROIT — Unlike past seasons, the Detroit Public School League’s 2012 season will have only one champion. In past seasons there were two champions, one each from Division I and Division II. But with the closing of Southwestern and Kettering, and the consolidation of Crockett Tech and Finney into East English Academy, the PSL is now down to 15 schools that play football.

PSL officials Alvin Ward and Andy Rio and PSL Sports Information Director Chuck Johnson have recreated the divisional setup that exited in the PSL during the 1960s and that was resurrected during the 1970s: the East West Divisional setup. There will be eight teams in the East and seven in the PSL West.

All teams will open the season with a non-league opponent the week of Aug. 23. The following week, all teams will start divisional play. The PSL East will play six divisional opponents while the West will play five opponents along with one league opponent. Teams that don’t make the playoffs will play crossover games on Oct. 11 and 18.

The playoff format will have the winner of the PSL West play the runner-up in the PSL East Oct. 12, while the winner of the PSL East will play the runner-up of the PSL West Oct. 13. Both games will be played at Northwestern High School. The PSL will wrap up the regular season with the PSL Championship Oct. 19. The site and time of the championship game has not yet been announced.

2012 Detroit PSL football divisional re-alignment

PSL East
East English Academy
Douglass Academy

PSL West
Cass Tech
Western International

Henry Ford


Clip to Evernote

About The Author

Number of Entries : 3307

© 2012 The Michigan Citizen All Rights Reserved | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy

Scroll to top